Saturn Awards beam up fantasy, sci-fi, horror nominees, with 'Hugo' and Harry Potter leading the way


Universal Orlando Resort via Getty Images

File: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter kicked off its grand opening celebration on June 16, 2010 in Orlando, Florida.

Just when you thought awards season was over, the Saturn Awards have beamed up their nominations for the year's best sci-fi, fantasy and horror films.

Two of the year's biggest blockbusters, "Hugo" and "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows — Part II," lead the way with 10 nominations each.

They’ll compete for best fantasy film, along with “Immortals,” “Midnight in Paris,” “The Muppets” and “Thor.”

“The Adjustment Bureau,” “Captain America” and “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” are among the nominees for best sci-fi film.

Among television shows, AMC's “Breaking Bad” leads the pack with six nominations. That's four more than its more fantasy-leaning (and blood-splattered) offering "The Walking Dead."

Newcomer FX series “American Horror Story” received five nominations.

Awardees are determined by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Film, and 2012 marks the Academy’s 40th anniversary. The first annual Saturn Awards were held in 1972, when they were hosted by William Shatner.

The awards will be given out on June 20.

Unfortunately, no awards will be given for Legos.

With contributions by Paige Osburn

More in Film / Television


blog comments powered by Disqus