KPCC wins 10 Golden Mike awards

Anaheim Residents Protest Police Shootings Over Weekend

Jonathan Gibby/Getty Images

Corey Moore won a Golden Mike award for Best News Reporting for his story on Yolanda Delgado's efforts to stop the destruction of local property after violence erupted between Anaheim police and protesters angry about the fatal shooting of Manuel Diaz in July 2012.

KPCC won 10 Golden Mike awards last night at the Radio & Television News Association of Southern California’s awards gala, more than any other radio station.

Here are the winners:

Best News Reporting: Corey Moore, “Anaheim Violence.” 

Best News Special: Frank Stoltze, Patt Morrison, AirTalk, and James Kim, “LA Riots.” This was a compilation of some of the station’s special coverage of the 20th anniversary of the riots.

Best Live Coverage of a News Story: The Madeleine Brand Show (with guest host Alex Cohen), “The Aurora Shooting.” 

Best News Public Affairs Program: Off-Ramp (John Rabe, Kitty Felde, Ashley Bailey, Bianca Ramirez, Kevin Ferguson, and James Kim) 

Best Serious Feature: Frank Stoltze, “Gang Truce" 

Best Individual Writing: Sanden Totten, “LACMA Rock.”  

Best Entertainment Reporting: Sanden Totten, “Movie Trailers.” 

 Best Use of Sound: Sanden Totten, “Movie Trailers.”

Best Sports Reporting: Corey Moore, “Paralympic Runner.”  

Best Light Feature: Mary Plummer, “Urban Mushing.” 

More in Local


blog comments powered by Disqus