6 innovators to be added to TV Hall of Fame

TV hall of fame

Ron Howard

Ron Howard is one of six new members to be added to the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Hall of Fame.

The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will induct six new members to its Hall of Fame on Monday, for their innovation and achievements.

The new members are director, actor and producer Ron Howard, sportscaster Al Michaels, CBS Corp. CEO Leslie Moonves, CBS News Chief Washington Correspondent Bob Schieffer and Law & Order Creator and Executive Producer Dick Wolf. Philo Farnsworth, who died in 1971, will be honored for creating all-electronic television transmission. 

“Each of this year’s Hall of Fame inductees is incredibly deserving of this honor and is truly a legend of our industry,” said Bruce Rosenblum, the academy’s chairman and CEO in a statement.

The honorees were nominated by the industry and the academy’s members and later selected by a six-member committee. There more than 120 people in the academy’s hall of fame, including Lucille Ball and Walt Disney.

The new Hall of Fame members will take part in a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Monday.

More information on the honorees can be found on the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences website.

More in Arts


blog comments powered by Disqus