March Madness Begins: Louisville, Kansas, Indiana and Gonzaga are no. 1 seeds

56863 full
56863 full

Update 3:40 p.m.: Louisville earned the top overall seed in the NCAA tournament Sunday, while Kansas, Indiana and Gonzaga also received No. 1s after a topsy-turvy regular season and another round of weekend upsets.

The selection committee had its work cut out after five teams swapped the top ranking in The Associated Press poll, capped by West Coast Conference champion Gonzaga (30-2) moving to the lead spot for the first time in school history.

But it's No. 4 Louisville (29-5) that leads the 68-team field after a stunning turnaround to beat Syracuse for the Big East championship. No. 7 Kansas (29-5) defeated rival Kansas State for the Big 12 title, No. 3 Indiana (28-6) held on despite falling to Wisconsin in the Big Ten semifinals, while the Zags also got a coveted spot.

Will Kentucky, which one year ago cut down the nets as champions be on the outside looking in after a third-place finish this year in the Southeastern Conference?

How about Maryland, which bounced Duke out of the Atlantic Coast Conference tournament but came up short against North Carolina and finished with a 22-10 record?

Did VCU's loss Sunday to St. Louis in the Atlantic-10 championship game mean there's no room for another A-10 team, Temple, in the Big Dance?

It's Selection Sunday, the official tipoff of March Madness. Scheduled for 3 p.m. PST on CBS-TV (and online at the NCAA's website) it's the evening when we hear which are the last few Division I men's basketball teams to make the NCAA's 68-team field, and just which brackets they've been slotted into. (The women's brackets will be announced Monday at 4 p.m. PST. on ESPN.)

Besides whether Kentucky, Maryland, Temple and other teams said to be "on the bubble" make the tournament, we'll also learn this evening just which teams will be the No. 1 seeds in the men's four regions. With just a couple hours to go before the Selection Show, the conventional wisdom seemed to be that the four No. 1 seeds will be Louisville, Indiana, Kansas and Gonzaga. But Miami, after winning the ACC's regular season and tournament championships, might knock Indiana out of that group.

As for the men's games, they begin Tuesday in Dayton, Ohio, with the "First Four" games — pitting the four lowest-seeded "at large" teams against the four lowest-seeded automatic qualifiers.

blog comments powered by Disqus