LAPD officers honored by President Obama

top Cops

Brendan Hoffman/Getty Images

U.S. President Barack Obama poses for a picture with the 2013 National Association of Police Organizations TOP COPS award winners during a ceremony honoring them at the White House on May 11, 2013 in Washington, DC. TOP COPS are nominated by their fellow officers for outstanding service above and beyond the call of duty.

President Barack Obama awarded several Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) officers with the National Association of Police Organizations Top Cops awards Saturday during a White House ceremony.

Obama is praising the nation's police officers for courage and for signing up, in his words, "to do some tough stuff."

The 12 LAPD officers were recognized for a Sept. 12 chase that led them from North Hollywood to downtown Los Angeles. It ended in the  arrest of the armed murder suspect Ian Schlesinger, who allegedly carjacked a vehicle. 

LAPD Police Chief Charlie Beck tweeted Saturday: 

LAPD honorees include  Sgt. Joel Miller, Sgt. Joseph Sanchez, and Officers Hans Almaraz, Joseph Arevalo, Mark Austin, David Blake, Joseph Broussard, Juan Garcia, Bradford Gorby, Ryan Nguyen, Clinton Perez and Sean Schneider.

Obama says the country saw what the police are made of last month, when many ran toward explosions near the Boston Marathon finish line not knowing what else they would face. He added that there are few opportunities to applaud the men and women who help keep the country safe, "but they're out there."

Other Top Cops award winners include officers from Illinois, Iowa, Florida, Indiana, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Texas and Wisconsin.

More in Local


blog comments powered by Disqus