Take Two®

News and culture through the lens of Southern California. Hosted by A Martínez

California's state travel ban list continues to grow

by Take Two®

149040 full
Alex Wong/Getty Images

And then there were eight.

That is eight U.S. states where California has banned publicly funded travel.
Here's the list of no-gos for state employees and others traveling on the taxpayer's dime: Texas, Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota, Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina and Tennessee.
It's all because of legislation that was passed last year, allowing California to prohibit the state funded and state sponsored travel to states with discriminatory laws.

For more on the impact of a California state ban, A Martinez spoke with POLITICO senior reporter, David Siders.

To listen to the full segment, click the blue play button above.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Enjoy Take Two®? Try KPCC’s other programs.

What's popular now on KPCC