Kenyans sweep top spots at LA Marathon

File: 2012 Honda LA Marathon
File: 2012 Honda LA Marathon
Rich Cruse / Los Angeles Marathon

Elisha Barno was the men’s winner of the Los Angeles Marathon today, while Hellen Jepkurgat was the women’s winner.

Barno completed the race in 2:11:51 while Jepkurgat finished in 2:34:23

Kenyans took 5 of the top 6 spots for men and women. It was the 14th time that Kenyans swept the men’s top three spots. The men's race has been won by a Kenyan every year since 1999, except for 2011 and 2014, when it was won by Ethiopians. A U.S. runner last won in 1994.

The winners each received $23,000, the runners-up $11,250 and third-
place finishers $9,000. Prize money was equal for men and women.

The race was run on the ``Stadium to the Sea'' course from Dodger Stadium to Ocean Avenue and Santa Monica Boulevard in Santa Monica for the eighth consecutive year.

It drew more than 24,000 entrants from all 50 states and a race-record
63 nations.